60 years

In the News

Professor Paul Alivisatos
(Miller Professor 2001 - 2002, Chemistry) has been appointed as Berkeley’s next Vice Chancellor, Research, effective March 1, 2016.

Roger Blandford (Visiting Miller Professor 2013, Astronomy) and Roy Kerr have been awarded the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Astronomy "for fundamental work concerning rotating black holes and their astrophysical consequences".

Philip Hopkins (Miller Fellow 2008-2011, Astronomy) won this year's Warner Prize from the American Astronomical Society, which recognises an early-career astronomer for significant contributions to astronomy in the five years preceding the award.

The White House announced the latest recipients of the National Medal of Science.
Armand Paul Alivisatos (Miller Professor 2001 - 2002, Chemistry) and Simon Levin (Visiting Miller Professor Spring 2003, Integrative Biology) are among this year's nine recipients of the nation's highest honors for achievement and leadership in advancing the fields of science and technology.

Sergio Ferrara (Visiting Miller Professor 2008, Physics) was recently awarded a prize The 99th Medal of Honour of JINR (Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Dubna) in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the very founding and to the development of the Theory of Supergravity, on the special occasion of his 70th jubilee and of the 100th anniversary of General Relativity.

Newsletter: Miller Fellow Focus

Sebastian Höhna
Sebastian Hohna (Miller Fellow 2014-17)
 is featured in the:

Winter 2016 Newsletter: 

"Computational and Theoretical Phylogenetics"

Read the Winter Issue

Upcoming Talks

James Lloyd (Visiting Miller Professor 2016, Astronomy) is presenting an upcoming Astronomy lunch talk titled "The Allais Effect & the 2017 Solar Eclipse" Thursday, February 11, 2016, 12:30 pm., 131A Campbell Hall.

Sarah Keller (Somorjay Visiting Miller Professor 2016, Chemistry) will be presenting the Physical Chemistry Seminar titled "Short Stories in Membrane Biophysics of How Complex Behavior Arises from Minimal Components" February 16, 2016, 4-5 p.m., 120 Latimer Hall - Pitzer Auditorium.

Miller Events
Useful Links