The Miller Institute is pleased to announce
Miller Fellowship, Miller Research Professorship & Visiting Professorship Awards
granted during this year's competition.

The Miller Institute congratulates 2017 Miller Senior Fellows:
Jennifer Doudna, Alex Filippenko & Christos Papadimitriou!


Omar Yaghi

Yaghi wins Royal Society of Chemistry award

Omar Yaghi (Visiting Miller Professor 2009) is the Royal Society of Chemistry Spiers Memorial Award winner for 2017 in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the chemical sciences. The award also recognises the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences and the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations.

Robert Zucker

Zucker Receives Sir Bernard Katz Award

Robert Zucker (Miller Professor 1999) received the 2017 Sir Bernard Katz Prize awarded annually by the Biophysical Society for excellence in research on exocytosis and endocytosis, for his groundbreaking studies on short-term synaptic plasticity and the role of calcium in triggering transmitter release.

Judith Cohen

Three Miller Members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Judith Cohen (Miller Fellow 1971 - 1973) - in recognition of her distinguished and continuing achievements in Astronomy. Cohen is currently completing a large survey of extremely metal poor stars in the halo of our galaxy.

Alexander Levitzki

Alexander Levitzki (Visiting Miller Professor 2008) was elected as a new foreign associate member for his research in the field of Chemistry. Levitzki is known for developing specific chemical inhibitors of cancer-induced protein kinases.

Gary Parker

Gary Parker (Visiting Miller Professor 1993) for his achievements in the field of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Geology, in particular, in fluid mechanics, river engineering, sediment transport.


          2018 - 2021 Miller Fellowship Nominations
Now Being Accepted

Returning Users Login

2018 Visiting Professor Nominations
Now Being Accepted

2018 Miller Professor Applications
Now Being Accepted
Open to Berkeley Faculty Only

Returning Users Login 

Newsletter: Miller Fellow Focus

Doug Hemingway
Doug Hemingway (Miller Fellow 2015-18)
 is featured in the:

Spring 2017 Newsletter: 

"Icy Ocean Worlds"

Read the Spring 2017 Issue

Newsletter Archive

Miller Events
In Memoriam
DavidChandlerDavid Chandler
Senior Miller Professor 2016, Miller Professor 1999-2000, Executive Committee of the Miller Institute 2002-2008, Professor Emeritus of the Graduate School Department of Chemistry, UC Berkeley. Passed away on April 18, 2017.
A Celebration of Life & Work will take place on Friday, June 16. Link to registration:
Useful Links