Below is a list of our Miller members who have recently received awards or who have been highlighted in the media. Also, the Miller Newsletters is another way to find out what is currently happening in our Miller Community.

  • Chemists Peidong Yang (Miller Professor 2009) and Kelsey Sakimoto have turned bacteria into efficient solar collectors to convert carbon dioxide into acetic acid, which serves as food for other bacteria producing useful fuels and chemicals.

  • Cédric Villani (Visiting Miller Professor 2004), Fields Medal winner speaks to the thrill of discovery and details the sometimes perplexing life of a mathematician.

  • Steven Poe (Miller Fellow 2000-2002) has discovered two new species of Anolis in Costa Rica and Panama. He has honored Miller Institute Chief Administrative Officer, Kathryn Day, by naming one of the discoveries Anolis kathydayae, citing her contributions "to the professional and personal development of scientists and the advancement of basic science through her position running the Miller Institute".

  • Jennifer Doudna (Miller Senior Fellow 2017) who co-invented CRISPR-Cas9 gene editing shares the 2017 Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research for groundbreaking work leading to current medical advances.

  • John Hartwig (Visiting Miller Professor 2009) discusses a new appoach to discover chemical reactions that could help us pick up the pace, thanks to a clever method and a smart Excel spreadsheet.

  • Eric Neuscamman (Miller Fellow 2011-2014) has received 2017 Early Career Research Program award from the Department of Energy to further his work on combining theoretical chemistry and the mathematics of random processes to design high‐fidelity models for electron transfer.

  • Peidong Yang (Miller Professor 2009), study principal investigator that finds tunable halide perovskites could usher in new generation of optoelectronic devices. The findings, published online this week in the early edition of the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

  • Louise Glass (Miller Professor 2011 - 2012) is being recognized as an outstanding mycologist by being named Fellow of Mycological Society of America and will be honored as one of two new fellows of the Mycological Society of America (MSA) at their annual meeting in Athens, GA.